Aidan Baker "Pithovirii" Featured

Album premiere @ INVERTED AUDIO
Soundscapes with an elegiac tone and engulfing atmospheric somberness. IGLOO MAG

more reviews

Glacial Movements is proud to present the soundscapes of Canadian artist Aidan Baker. His first appearance was with the song "Beneath the Ice" on "Cryosphere", the first and only compilation of the entire catalogue. Then in 2013, with "Aneira" (Welsh for 'snow') composed exclusively for GM, through the use of the 12-string acoustic guitar. Pithovirii is his new concept album, which was in part inspired by Vladimir Sorokin's novel Ice Trilogy which in turn led to reading about the Tunguska meteor which fell in Siberia in the early 20th century which in turn lead to reading about 15000 year old viruses found in glacier ice. Using electric guitar and effect pedals, Aidan attempted to musically convey the idea of glacial density and stasis within which lurk potentially malevolent microbiome.

Aidan Baker is a classically-trained multi-instrumentalist using the electric guitar as his primary instrument. Using prepared and alternate methods of playing the guitar, along with various electronic effects, Baker creates music which generally falls within the ambient/experimental genre but draws on influences from rock, electronic, classical, and jazz. A highly prolific artist, Baker has released numerous recorded works, both solo and with various group projects, on such independent labels as Gizeh Records, Important Records, Alien8 Recordings, and his own imprint, Broken Spine. Baker is also the author of several books of poetry. A regular live performer, Baker has toured extensively around the world, including appearances at such international festivals as Supersonic, SXSW, Incubate, Unsound, and Roadburn, among others. Originally from Toronto, Canada, Baker currently resides in Berlin, Germany.


Track Listing:



Label: Glacial Movements

Artist: Stefan Węgłowski

Release date : 08th March 2024

Format: CD 6 panels digipack with special finish

Cat. Num: GM053

All songs by Aidan Baker (electric guitar & bass), recorded in Berlin, July 2022.

Artwork by Lia Bosch

Sleeve by Rutger Zuydervelt

A Glacial Movements Records release, March 2024. All rights reserved.